Here I Am

Here I am, beneath your heart,
My heart beating in happy harmony,
As my frame perceives
The gentle throbbing within your breast,
Serene.

I began in secret and in darkness,
A mystery, even to myself.
Day by day, nature shapes my clay,
As you await the blessed dawn of my birth day.

What I know, I know by existence.
I am now all trust,
Simply growing,
Simply becoming who I am.

Comfort, you give comfort.
Love, you are all I know of love.
As you wait for me, my mother,
The eyes of my soul are wide open.
I behold you, smiling upon me.

Expectant, vigilant and gleeful,
Mother of my moments,
You cradle me.
You are my home of sweet delight.

© 2011  Joann Nelander

2 thoughts on “Here I Am

  1. Hi Jo

    Exciting to receive two poems from you today! But first to yesterday. I loved seeing you and Jim and what a stunning couple you are and both so striking I wondered who’d have been the pursuer when you first started dating. With Jim and blue eyes and his solid, composed, and athletic demeanor, it might’ve been you! You have a wide network of readers and I am so appreciative of you including me among them and I value deeply that we share a strong desire to answer Our Lords thirst. I have been reading Here I Am ( the title to one of my favorite hymns) and I want to sit with it and Jerusalem a while, but what I respond to is that your love and devotion began in a deeply hidden way, even from you and that Our Mother nurtures, waits and tends the young sapling of our devotion to her. That very much parallels my own experience.

    More later PaxTecum Scott

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Hi Scott, I love this expression, “your love and devotion began in a deeply hidden way, even from you and that Our Mother nurtures, waits and tends the young sapling of our devotion to her” It is a great place for an accord.

      When I pray I’m at peace, but these days make me a mixture of holy desire and unknowing. The world situation, which I can’t seem to ignore stirs responses other than the sweetness and light of solitude. My recent posts reflect that. How does a Christian respond? Prayer, yes; reflection, yes, martyrdom, yes, but is that all? Popes and saints resisted by arms in the past. Overall, I know and trust Jesus is Lord.

      Peace in Christ Jesus,
      Jo

Leave a Reply

